The Lil Smokies

With their roots submerged in the thick buttery mud of traditional bluegrass, The Lil’ Smokies generate electric energy and exceptional songwriting. Forming in 2009 in Missoula, Montana, The Lil Smokies quintet is formed by Scott Parker (bass), Jake Simpson (fiddle), Matt Rieger (guitar), Matt Cornette (banjo), and Andy Dunnigan (dobro) creating a new and wholly unique, melody-driven sound of their own. They blend traditional bluegrass, newgrass, innumerable unique original pieces, sheer raw energy, and exquisite musicianship, weaving seamlessly through genres, leaving behind melodies you’ll be singing to yourself for days. Their new album, Changing Shades, delivers their bluegrass roots with the punch of a rock band. They won the 2015 Telluride Bluegrass Band competition and took home the 2016 International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) “Momentum Band of the Year” award.